Speeches 1908-1926.5 Linear Ft. Contents List
Files are arranged chronologically. Included are Baccalaureate and Convocation sermons (1908-1920), addresses delivered at the Victory Celebration on Oct. 17, 1919, and memoranda, notes and speeches given by Garfield at alumni dinners and professional meetings (1918-1926).
.25 Linear Ft. Contents List
Chronologically arranged files of correspondence, ledger sheets and monthly statements. The Inn was originally located in Dodd House and operated by the Dodd family. A group of alumni, including Garfield, purchased the house in 1909 and named the establishment the Williams Alumni House. Their desire was to provide alumni and guests of the college a place to stay during their visits. L.G. Treadway took over management of the Inn in 1912 and changed the name to the Williams Inn to attract more business. Ownership of the Williams Inn was gradually turned over to Williams College and Treadway began leasing the Inn in 1934. Correspondence and statements from Treadway reveal an especially enduring commitment to the Inn despite financial troubles.
.5 Linear Ft. Contents List
This series consists of two sections: Treasurer's Office files arranged chronologically (1911-1926, 1932), and Williams College Budgets arranged chronologically for each fiscal year (1923-1934, except 1926-1927). The Treasurer's Office files contain correspondence and statements from Willard E. Hoyt, College Treasurer. [Treasurer's Reports have been maintained in the Archives.] Williams College Budgets were usually prepared in May and were often revised during the fall of the fiscal year. All of the budgets include a cover letter from Hoyt to the President and Trustees.